50firsts2012and13

A review of 50 first experiences

First 26 – learned how to campaign

Leave a comment

January 25 – I’ve worked for a lot of campaigning organisations, taken part in a few protests and can be pretty argumentative when I feel like it, but I’m also pretty good at sitting on the fence. So to find out what real campaigning is about, I booked a workshop with campaigning – um campaigners – Sheila McKechnie Foundation. I think this might have been the first time I’ve ever paid for a course about personal/career development, and I had a fairly unique perspective because while others were representing their organisation I wasn’t representing anyone in particular. But keeping my options open wasn’t going to work if I wanted to get something out it, so I chose for my campaign issue of the day those ads to promote payday borrowing. From a bit of a slow start – getting very critical of teaching methods – it built up to some great and really practical ideas. But two months down the line and it hasn’t really inspired me to take action. Shame, really. Though now I think about it, I haven’t seen those payday borrowing ads in a while so has someone managed to take a stand where I didn’t?

Marks: 7/10 for ideas, buzz and that feeling of excitement at the end of the best kind of training days. 3 points lost for – my own fault –the fact that I’m still not sure where to take or use it. Martin reckons use it to get Richard III’s bones back from Leicester to “where they belong” in York, but that’s his issue rather than mine. To be honest, I should have smuggled him in to be my secret campaign agent.

Author: sarahnow50

I turned 50 in June and have decided to write about some of the new experiences that happen to me over the next 12 months, not in a show-off way, but to remind myself (and any others that access this) that new experiences happen in all shapes and sizes. I suppose I'm looking at ways to remind myself of the positives. I'm also hoping this will spark off taking steps in a few different directions - what, I don't yet know.

Leave a Reply

