50firsts2012and13

A review of 50 first experiences

First 29 – discovered a corrugated iron cottage

Leave a comment

The woods are lovely, dark and deep,

The woods are lovely, dark and deep,

But I have promises to keep....

But I have promises to keep….

Coming up a woodland path (on our half-term holiday in Newton Stewart), Cheryl and I came upon a little private stone bridge. A few yards on, we met the couple who lived over the stone bridge and up a secluded track – in a corrugated iron cottage. In fact, they’d lived in the same cottage, which belonged to the local manor, for 53 years. Miles from anywhere, they grew enough potatoes for the year, and also onions and other vegetables. For anything else, they had to walk down the track and over the bridge to their car. I was given a tour of the garden and peaked into their tiny hallway when they weren’t looking. So nosy! I could see wood panelling but the walls must still have been pretty thin – must be freezing in winter.

Marks: 8/10 – a lovely chat with an interesting couple and a chance to see another way of life. 2 points lost for not asking if I could look inside.

Author: sarahnow50

I turned 50 in June and have decided to write about some of the new experiences that happen to me over the next 12 months, not in a show-off way, but to remind myself (and any others that access this) that new experiences happen in all shapes and sizes. I suppose I'm looking at ways to remind myself of the positives. I'm also hoping this will spark off taking steps in a few different directions - what, I don't yet know.

Leave a Reply

