50firsts2012and13

A review of 50 first experiences

First 33 – learned woodturning with the Amazings

Leave a comment

All my own work - sadly, I accidentally deleted all the pictures of the workshop session

All my own work – sadly, I accidentally deleted all the pictures of the workshop session

26 March – A while ago I came upon a list of things to do in London, and discovered the Amazings, which is a group of older people who are turning their passion into training for others. It took my fancy because 1) I found a class on woodturning which looked very exciting and 2) I liked the idea of being taught by a group called the Amazings. So this was the reality: over the course of 4 wonderful hours, Mr Amazing, AKA 65-year old woodturner Paul, taught ten novices how to use a lathe and various tools to turn ten misshapen lumps of wood into ten beautiful little bowls. The session was held in a workshop in the Camden Shed, a venue owned by a fellow Amazing who is keen for more people to benefit from this sharing of passions and wisdom, and we were helped by Phil’s 9-year-old grandson Alfie – yes, that’s NINE years old – who has been turning for five years. I have to say it was an amazing day – supported by the fact that everyone said the word ‘amazing’ at least once every five minutes. During a break I asked Alfie what he wanted to be when he was older and he said “I’m going to follow the path” – imagine being that certain (not to mention cool) at 9! Another first – if it’s broadcast – will be being interviewed for Canadian radio about why I decided to try an ‘Amazings event’. Only slightly marred by the interviewer pointing out I was old enough to run an event myself.

Marks: 10/10 for inspiration and sheer amazingness. I should really dock it a point for the fact that the website describes ‘elders’ as people over 50, but that would be petty, wouldn’t it?

Author: sarahnow50

I turned 50 in June and have decided to write about some of the new experiences that happen to me over the next 12 months, not in a show-off way, but to remind myself (and any others that access this) that new experiences happen in all shapes and sizes. I suppose I'm looking at ways to remind myself of the positives. I'm also hoping this will spark off taking steps in a few different directions - what, I don't yet know.

Leave a Reply

